JP Senani Samman Pension Scheme 2020 Bihar

By | October 24, 2020

JP Senani Samman Pension Yojana in Bihar

JP Senani Samman Yojana Management System 2020: In an appreciation to people who participated in the 1974 Chhatra movement for opposing Emergency and were jailed under MISA and DIR Act, Bihar government has announced pension scheme in 2009. Check more detail on the official website.

JP Senani Samman Yojana

Under the JP Senani Samman Yojana, pension worth Rs 10,000 is given to people who were jailed for more than six months and Rs 5,000 to those who were jailed for less than six months during March 18, 1974 to March 21, 1977 under the Maintenance of Internal Security Act (MISA) and Defense of India Rules (DIR).


Chhatra Movement, also known as JP Movement or Sampoorn Kranti Movement, was students’ movement in Bihar which was led by the veteran Gandhian socialist Jayaprakash Narayan.

It was initiated against misrule and corruption by the government of Bihar which later turned against emergency imposed by the then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

Many leaders and prominent people joined the movement. They were arrested and served jail. They didn’t think of their comforts or difficulties faced by their families and faced imprisonment for the national cause.

The Pension Yojana by the Bihar government is a small effort towards appreciating their sacrifice. Let’s check all details for JP Senani Samman Pension Yojana in Bihar.

The Maintenance of Internal Security Act was passed by the Indian Parliament in 1971 under the administration of Prime Minister Indira Gandhi. It provided superpowers to law enforcement agencies with the indefinite preventive detention of individuals without issuing any warrant.

It also allowed search and seizure of property. The law was quite controversial and was much criticized by many sections of people and critics.

So far 3,100 people have been approved for the Pension under the scheme. JP Pension has been offered to 2602 pensioners until June 2016. Ex-Chief Minister Lalu Prasad Yadav and BJP senior and former deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi are also beneficiaries of the scheme.

The JP Senani Samman Yojana was implemented by Nitish Kumar during his first tenure (2005-2010) as Chief Minister.

More Related Queries:


(Visited 3,818 times, 17 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *